Ron Jones Scholarship Fund

Construction Financial Management Association
Ron Jones Scholarship Fund

On 21 December 2009, we unexpectedly lost our good friend and colleague, Ronald Wayne Jones.  Ron was an inspirational and dedicated force in the creation and growth of Alaska's Last Frontier Chapter of the Construction Financial Management Association (CFMA), and he is, and will continue to be, sorely missed by the many people whose lives he touched during his time with us.

Determined to honor Ron's lasting legacy, Alaska's Last Frontier Chapter of CFMA has established the Ron Jones Scholarship Fund, partnering with the University of Alaska-Anchorage (UAA) to establish and grow an endowment fund in Ron's name, that will give out scholarships to qualified students in the UAA Construction Management program.  The success of this program and those who will benefit from it, will insure Ron's lasting impact on the local construction industry and business community in Alaska, for years to come.
The CFMA Chapter Development team overseeing this program includes Melissa Myers (Unit Company), Dustin Cooper (Delta Leasing) and James Easton (Watterson Construction).  All questions or inquiries about the program or donations should be directed to Melissa at  

The goal is to raise $ 100,000 over the next three years, through corporate and personal donations.  Unit Company has graciously donated $ 5,000 to start the endowment.

The attachments below include a letter of appreciation from Jeffrey C. Callahan, assistant professor in Construction Management at UAA, an overview of the endowment fund, pledge forms and more.

February 2013 Update
The Scholarship fund recently surpassed the $65,000 goal!  These funds will be instrumental in helping students further their education in UAA's construction accounting program.  These students are tomorrow's project managers and business owners, so it's in everyone's best interest to ensure UAA continues to produce quality graduates.  We have a goal of $100,000 for the fund, at which point scholarships can be awarded directly from the earnings.  We would like to sincerely thank all who have donated to date and have helped with their time.  For corporations, donations to this scholarship do qualify for Education Tax Credits, so be sure to take advantage!  Please contact Melissa Myers at, or go to our chapter's webpage for more information!

January 2011 Update from Chapter President
I am extremely pleased and proud to report on the status of our Ron Jones Scholarship Fund, providing direct scholarship support for Alaskan residents enrolled as degree-seeking students in the Construction Management Program at UAA.  2010 was our first fundraising year with a goal of $100,000 to be raised over the next three years (2010-2012).  In order to establish a permanent endowment with the University of Alaska Foundation, a minimum balance of $25,000 is required. 

Presently, contributions in hand, including both corporate and personal donations, are $34,533, with another $16,917 in future pledges!  In total, that is a commitment of $51,450 towards our goal of $100,000! Personally, and as current President of our Chapter’s Board of Directors, I want to thank all of you who have so thoughtfully given to this Fund.  I have always believed that the support from our CFMA members and affiliates in giving back to our industry, and in support of our newest construction managers, would be there, and here’s the proof.  Thank you! 

I also would like to acknowledge a special thank you to good friends of Ron Jones who gave in memory of Ron, for everything he stood for, including support of the Construction Management Program at UAA

Donor List:
General Society ($ 5,000 +)
Coalaska, Inc 
Founders Circle ($ 1,000 - $ 5,000)
ASRC Energy Services
ASRC Construction Holdings
CH2M Hill
Unit Company
Lisa Vandergriff
Watterson Construction
Business Insurance Associates
Foundation ($ 1000 -)
Alicia Jones
Toby & Anita Archuleta
ATS Alaska  
Delta Constructors
Dustin & Hally Cooper
Tom & Susan Corkran
Denice Elison
Charlyne & Bill Fair
David Hopkinson
Megawatt Electric, LLC
SolstenXP, Inc.
Teresa Krier
Tamara Potter